What is the WCAG
(Web Content Accessibility Guidelines)?

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

Are a compilation of standards created by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). The World Wide Web Consortium is known as an international community that develops regulations and recommendations for the internet to help ensure its longevity and usability.

The W3C formulated the WCAG to provide specific regulations for website owners, site designers, and web developers to create online sites and digital content and as well as markup through accessible modalities that work fluidly with assistive technologies used by the disability populations.

What is WCAG 2.0 & 2.1?

For website ADA compliance, the courts have recognized web accessibility standards called Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG 2.0/2.1), created by an international, and Globally recognized, consortium of volunteers.

Some of the requirements:

– Content must be coded for audio translation by screen-reader software.
– Adding Descriptive Image ALT tags
– There must be on-screen captions in videos for screen-reader software to read to the blind and descriptions for the deaf.
– Sites must include accessible drop-down menus for those who use a keyboard as an alternative to a mouse.

What Are The Different WCAG Accessibility Levels?

WCAG 2.0 and 2.1 guidelines consist of three levels of Web Accessibility that a site can achieve. It’s recommended that you aim for Level AA at the beginning in order to mitigate litigation risks, and then add to the website in order to achieve a triple-A rating if possible:

– Level A – Your website is accessible to some users.
– Level AA – Your website is accessible to almost all users.
– Level AAA – Your website is accessible to all users.

SiteCompliance.io - Website Compliance. Made Easy!

Copyright © 2020

Website Accessibility

© 2020 SiteCompliance.io